Home > Photography > M.I.A.

M.I.A.

So I realize I’ve been MIA for a bit, but I’ve been slammed at work doing 10-14 venues per week and had a nice short 3.5 day vacation visiting my dad and friends all over Socal. Thao and Jacob were awesome as usual, I went to the best sports therapist/chiropractor ever in long beach, and had my Gyukaku, The Boiling Crab and my Pink Berry fix. Simply glorious!

So I managed to squeeze some time in for a shoot with Brooke. I told her I’ve been wanting to take some photos on the strip for quite some time now, since I basically pass these spots every night on the way to or from work. We managed to go to two locations, and get some decent shots. Lighting was very basic, nikon sb800 speedlight in a silver umbrella on almost all the shots, I figured there would be a lot of foot-traffic so i figured the less I brought the better.

I did realize a few things during this shoot however. I miss having prime lenses, and that I really can’t rely on my SU-800 outdoors, and its deemed useless compared to my radiopoppers. (RF>IR) The SU-800 is a great tool, its just for what I do and how much I make its really just another overlapping tool, and inconsistent (outdoors) at that! If they made an RF version of the SU-800 it’d be gold!!

I wanted to add in this black and white, I originally intended the set to be black and white but decided to go with color because it was so vivid straight out of camera. I really need to start shooting more portraits, I’ve got a lot on my plate at the moment and need to figure a lot of stuff out still. Hopefully after a quick 3-4 day in California again for my birthday will help clear my mind. I know this was a short post, hopefully I’ll be able to follow up sooner than later! Thanks!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

