Home > Personal, Photography > HELP-PORTRAIT

HELP-PORTRAIT

Help-Portrait is a world-wide movement of photographers, make-up artists, hair stylists that wanted to give back to their local community. The Las Vegas chapter of Help-Portrait decided to participate at one of the several Center of Independent Living, which is a homeless-teen shelter in the valley. This is the first year and kind of a trial-run for years to come. It was one of the best things I can say I’ve done for a very long time. The outcome was so incredible, I will never forget the feeling I had that day EVER. The look on all of their faces was indescribable and made me realize how much we all take things for granted and how our problems are so petty compared to theirs.
There were so many teens with so many stories, I was blown away at how great they all were behind the camera. I have to admit I barely slept the night before because I was so anxious to help out and shoot.
Pictured below is Megan, she wanted pictures with all the great friends she met the Center of Independent Living that help her get through her day. I have so many group shots I still need to sort before Saturday’s Potluck/gallery!!!

Below is Alesha. I asked her if she’s done a photoshoot before because she was doing pose after pose like she’s done it a million times! She told me no, and that she practices in front of a mirror a lot, and it makes her feel good about herself.

I did a few photos with a football they had on hand. I’m so glad I used this as a prop. The football is old, worn, scuffed like an old pair of chuck’s it shows so much character.

This is my favorite photo of the day. It might not be as sharp as I’d like it to be, but it’s the most powerful in my opinion.

I hope this kind of touched you how it touched me. I tried my best to capture images that they can look back at and have that boost in self-confidence and self-esteem that we all need every once in a while.

Above is a picture (al powers took) of everyone that made this event possible, at first I was going to put a picture of just the staff, but without the kids, well, that’s missing the point, this day was all about them! (If you cant spot me, I’m just right of center!) I hope this inspires you to give back to your community, there are lots of people that need our help and would love some kind of positive attention. Happy Holiday guys!

  1. Albert
    December 19, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thanks for sharing! Happy Holidays!

  2. yabba
    January 14, 2010 at 9:16 am

    good shit

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

