Home > Automotive > Vegasdrift 015

Vegasdrift 015

This past Saturday was Vegasdrift’s 015 event, which included a small competition and toy drive out at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Nick and his staff always pull through for the vegas community. Tons of track time with two course layouts side by side, and 2 run groups! Good thing its not the summer! Majority of the cars there would be overheating! I’m just messing, only talking about the rotary guys. HA! Actually the night before the event was about 30 degrees! Probably one of the coldest nights we’ve had in a while, so by the time the event was over (when i started shooting the drifting) my hands were freezing! I could barely press the shutter! This is going to sound….., but it might be a wardrobe malfunction, I gotta start wearing jackets that insulate heat!!

So when I arrived at the track, I used two lenses only, both being manual focus, and both being semi new to the arsenal. One was a Korean GEM by the name of ROKINON 85 f/1.4, and the other being approximately 50mm f/4 lens baby composer! I haven’t shot primes in a while, and I do enjoy it over zooms, but not when I’m rushed or expected certain images. I definitely think a full morning of manual focusing can make your brain work as hard as any history book. I just cant justify the price of the AF model of the 85 f/1.4 when optic wise they’re so similar!

Here are a few shot with the 85 f/1.4 particularly of the AZ240SX.ORG drivers!! I miss PIR soo much!

I like the stance of this car, and the motor, still up in the air about the custom sheet metal pull in the rear. I’ve felt this way since the first time I saw this car in PHX a few years back.

Its rocking now ITB’s from the GTIR which by itself is a ton of work. If I recall correctly, new throttle cable, plenum, fuel rail. Whatever, getting off-topic. heres a pic!

lens baby composer pics! Heres one of local Just Drift Drivers, Mike Bolanos! He sure has come a long way since the Hankook drift events!

and one of a local driver who’s car never runs conveniently during an event who also runs Royal Flush Appearal, but needs more t-shirts, RAY! (I’m just kidding, but didn’t I warn you about deathworks injectors when you got them?)

and finally two action shots, this pretty much sums up grassroot drifting I think from cars built from the bottom up, to cars with bare essentials to have fun in!

and lastly my favorite of the day. These images don’t look bad for no post processing, just batch processed the watermarks on because I’m so far behind on updates!

Thanks for checking in! I’ll have more updates soon! Thanks again to Nick and staff for putting on THE only drift events for the las vegas grassroot community.

  1. bomac
    December 7, 2009 at 11:32 am

    sweet write up brent! when i saw u out at the main track i ran out of tires! i wish i could have drove more and get some action shots from you.

    • December 7, 2009 at 11:35 am

      yeah thanks man! and sorry i was on a tight schedule that day, and only got to shoot the last like 30 minutes or so. Kinda fail, but i got some decent shots in such limited time!

  2. Albert (Go Go)
    December 7, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Brenton, You have the best action coverage always! Thanks!!

  3. December 10, 2009 at 2:09 am

    I read a few topics. I respect your work and added blog to favorites.

  4. December 14, 2009 at 2:06 am

    Interesting and informative. But will you write about this one more?

  5. December 16, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Thank you! You often write very interesting articles. You improved my mood.

  6. December 18, 2009 at 4:09 am

    dunno why you used 3 different names, with the same email, but spam or not, thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

