Home > Automotive > EVENT COVERAGE>SEMA 2009

EVENT COVERAGE>SEMA 2009

The annual SEMA show took place Nov 2nd-6th here in good ol’ Las Vegas. I’ve been attending this show since (from what i can remember) my senior year of high school, which means this is my 7th year attending!! Obviously with the economy the show wasn’t as large as say 2 years ago, but had enough to keep most people interested!! I skipped the 4×4, car audio and whatever was in the North Hall from an outside glance looked like a mix of detailing products to knock-off 3rd party parts/accessories. (which I have no interest at all in) There were a few new announcements in Formula D such as Vegas will be end of august vs early July, NOS energy drink being the official FD energy drink for 2010, and promise of a 2010 RedBull World Drift Challenge! Vegas in August hopefully helps with the heat, but end of August isn’t THAT much different. Also new cars for the 2010 season!! Hankook made a KILLER debut of Conrad Grunewald.’s new 2010 Camaro and Robbie Nishida’s RWD converted VQ 2010 Nissan GTR!!!

Conrad Grunewald’s 2010 camaro above, and somewhere in the picture below is Robbie’s 2010 GTR and the lovely Janelle Ha.

Forrest Wang will be piloting a SC430 for Drift Emporium, and Michael Essa in a 08′ BMW 335i w/turbo M3 powerplant for GSR Autosport! 2009 seemed like the year for Nissan GTR’s and Chevy’s new Camaro! Wheel-wise, Volk’s G2 were on everything you could think of. I wish it had TE concave-look! It looks too much like a factory “touring/sport” upgrade. There were a handful of cars that stood out. Pagani’s full carbon fiber body Zonda-R was one for sure! We’re looking at over $1.5million USD!!

Also Lexus had a beautiful satin black LFA on display. This is Lexus’s built to order 10 cylinder 550 hp sex machine!

Mobil One had this beautiful twin turbo Lamborghini Gallardo on display also sporting the matte/satin black!!

Rhys Millen Racing (RMR) had its mid-engine v8 Hyundai Genesis coupe on display. The fabrication work is top notch! Whats neat about this is that the front firewall has not been modified! Does this mean we might be able to see this in FD one day!? I wouldn’t count on it!

SEMA to a lot of people (including myself) usually means tons of walking, and tons of drinking! All I know is that I’m glad its finally over!! I had tons of fun, and would like to thank all the people I was with for making it one of the more enjoyable SEMA shows to date!!

I ended up shooting more models this time around because I usually don’t for some reason. Hmm….I’m not sure why, but I did shoot the entire show with flash, and I think I liked the results way more than last years set.

anyways…thats the last one! Thanks for checking out my blog, leaving a comment would be nice!! =)

  1. January 13, 2010 at 11:23 am

    What an interesting take on this topic. I am happy you shared your thoughts and ideas and I find myself agreeing. I appreciate your coherent writing style and the effort you have put into this piece. Many thanks for the solid work and good luck with your blog, I look forward to more updates.

    • January 13, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      thanks for checking out the blog and the nice comments!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

