Home > Automotive > Lighting

Lighting

With my work/school schedule, shooting at optimal times is hard for me. I shoot whenever I can fit it in, and portable power is a must. I usually have at least 3 speedlights on me at a time, but I decided for the next 2 cars to use 2 AB800’s and my Vagabond II (portable power pack).

Virtual Works Racing is a local shop that does all fabrication in house. From intake/turbo manifolds to roll cages, to one off suspension parts. A good friend of mine, Juddi Lin is working on updating their website/myspace page and long time friend with the shop owner. The supra shown below is shop owner Dana Westover’s daily driver. Dana puts out some of the fastest and cleanest drag supra’s on the west coast. You might recognize his drag supra which is the blue mkiv on the bfgoodrich ads that are still in print. Anyways, 850+ hp, daily driven, stock interior with roll bar/door bars. Thought I’d work on my lighting. I actually want to shoot some of their manifolds for fun some day. Their work there is top notch!

dana

I shot this car later that day. This is Nick Dizon’s daily driven Nissan 350z. Fresh from the paint shop with brand new Origin aero. Nick is the owner of the vegasdrift website, and in charge of all their SICK local events. He’s also throwing the vegas pro am for formula d vegas. check it out if you didnt see the flyer a few posts back at vegasproam.com. I wish we had these monthly events when I was still driving. It’s actually hard to go to one of his events and not give in and buy a missile car to destroy at the local jams.

nicks 350

Forrest Wang so happened to be in town, with his new daily driven s14, and met up during the photoshoot. I did grab a few pics, not my best rig shot, but this was the widest i had on me at the time (Tamron 17-35 on D300). I ended up having problems with that lens copy, and had to actually swap it out for another one. Quality control is a problem across the board it seems no matter what company. heres one of the quick edits. congrats to forrest for 3rd place during D1 Anaheim!

forrest

On another note… I really need to up my game, I think my job/school/personal life really conflicts with shooting, and I need to maybe challenge myself more. I think I might do a weekly photo challenge to keep this blog healthy. (after my 2nd trip to hawaii july 12-22) Check for updates from there as well. If I could get more cars featured places that would be nice as well….hmm…..lots to do..

  1. July 8, 2009 at 5:12 am

    I visited this blog first time and found it very interesting and informative.. Keep up the good work thanks..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

