Home > Photography > Nikon!!!

Nikon!!!

After about 6 months of contemplating, I’ve made the jump to Nikon. This is where the argument comes. I switched from a 1d Mark II to a gripped D300. (1.3 to 1.5 sensor, rather than going to a D700 full frame) as I initially planned. The first thing to do was sell all my canon gear to make room and money for the nikon gear. With what I shoot, I HAD to have these lenses (70-200G 2.8VR, and a UWA for rig shots) I can not post prices of what I got these for, for any chance of resale in the future, but I found a guy on ebay who had a 70-200vr, tokina 12-24 and a d300 for sale. With such a huge jump, I thought to myself a D300 would do the job as long as I had a grip and a mid range lens to use. I emailed the ebay user, and offered to buy all 3 items from him to save on shipping, and he was kind enough to say yes! I then found locally a 17-55G DX lens, MBD10 battery grip and a 200 f/2 AiF and TC14e teleconverter. anyways, with that said I did pay about $800-$1000 (which is insane for the amount of gear I just listed!!) out of pocket for everything including new portable power (sb24, 2xsb28’s and an abr800 ringflash). I still plan on jumping to a d700, but probably when the type of work I get requires it.

200f2 photo taken by Al Powers with his new af chipped 400 f/2.8 AiS!!

  1. bomac
    May 28, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    her brent! nice blog. when i saw this post i remember taking a shot of you taking another shot of a car on last weekends event. i’ll ask ken to send u the pic.

  2. Juan
    June 3, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Bro. Nice that you got a good deal on the equipment =). I emailed you the guide. Apparently it worked so let me know if you got it. Also in the future, if you go ahead with the d700, I can buy the d300 back, as will need a back up.

    Juan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

